LinkedIn launches their own “paper” called “LinkedIn Today”

Saw this over on VentureBeat and I’ve got to say that I really like this idea.

The best thing about this is that your version of “LinkedIn Today” is that it filters the stories that you see based on your profile settings, ie. your profession, industry, expertise etc. After just a quick browse I can testify to the fact that its algorithm seems to be working fine, as I’m seeing the kind of stories that I would like read on my screen (the above shot isn’t my screen).

At the moment it’s serving up stories that other people are linking within the network (and you can see who’s linking to what too), but I wouldn’t be surprised if at some point they decide to expand the net and link up with the big media players and turn it into a fully fledged online business publication.

Relevant content with automated and intelligent delivery. Also, potentially highly valuable business or trade information in there.

Sure, I’ve got tools like Mediagazer and Techmeme to help me keep on top of the hottest news in these industry circles, but LinkedIn Today takes it one step further by making it just that much more relevant to me.

So again, loving this!

Leave a Reply

